Press Releases

EU Commissioner Margot Wallström will hand over the Volvo Environment Prize on Oct. 29



The 2003 Volvo Environment Prize is being awarded to two pioneers who placed people and their need in focus. Madhav Gadgil from India and Mohammad Yunus from Bangladesh have each in his respective field created new models for understanding and transforming the relationships between poverty, development and the environment.


The celebrations for the award winners will take place in Brussels on October 29 2003. EU Commissioner Margot Wallström will hand over the price and address the laureates at a ceremony in Flagey, Place St Croix in Brussels at 17.00 p.m..


The ceremony is preceeded by a seminar:
Sustainable Development - from good examples to common practice with the participation of Professor Yunus and Professor Gadgil and moderated by Mr Anders Wijkman. MEP.


More detailed information on the prize and the winners, including photos, is available on the Volvo Environment Prize website:


For further information, please contact:
Volvo Car Corporation:  Christer Gustafsson, +46 31 59 65 25
or Jeanette Carlsson +46 31 592321
Volvo Group:  Mårten Wikforss, +46 31 66 11 27


The Volvo Environment Prize was established in 1989 and amounts to SEK 1.5 million. Through the years the prize has recognized pioneering research on most aspects of sustainable development, which is especially well exemplified by this year’s prize.

Environment, Corporate
Descriptions and facts in this press material relate to Volvo Cars' international car range. Described features might be optional. Vehicle specifications may vary from one country to another and may be altered without prior notification.
Media Contacts

For information on how Volvo Cars process your personal data in relation to Volvo Cars Global Newsroom click here.

Volvo Cars Newsroom makes use of cookies in order to optimize your user experience on this website. The cookies on the website do not store personal information. For more information, read our Cookies Policy page.