Press Releases

Double victory for Volvo Polestar Racing in the STCC finale


Linus Ohlsson and Thed Björk ended the season in the best possible way with a double victory for Volvo Polestar Racing in the Swedish Touring Car Championship (STCC) finale at Mantorp Park. Newly crowned STCC champion Björk won the very last race of the weekend and year.


"A perfect end to an awesome year. This season with Volvo and Polestar is the best in my career. A big thanks to everyone in the team and especially my engineer Jan Andersson," said Björk.

Double victory for Volvo Polestar Racing in the 2013 STCC finale

22-year-old Ohlsson claimed his second victory for the season after dominating the first race of the weekend from start to finish.


"The car was perfect in the first race, I got a gap already after the first half lap that I was able to keep to the end. I am really pleased to finish the year this well," said Ohlsson.


Robert Dahlgren had to fight hard in the season finale and had the aim for second place in the championship from BMW driver Richard Göransson. Fifth place in the first race and a strong second in the final race was nearly enough, Dahlgren secured third in the championship just one point from Göransson.


"I had problems with the car and I was hit from behind in the first race unfortunately. A podium in the last race is good, but I would of course liked a better result, something we had the pace for," said Dahlgren.


The STCC finale was eventful for Fredrik Ekblom who fought to second in the first race after a hard fight with both Dahlgren and Citroën driver Jocke Mangs. The second race ended in the gravel trap unfortunately after a collision with Göransson which resulted in a penalty for the BMW driver.


"The only thing for me ahead of the finale was to go all in, which we really did. The first race was good, but I was unfortunately taken out in the second. I am not happy with the season, but the form curve has pointed up at the end of the season and that is for sure positive," said Ekblom.


Prince Carl Philip Bernadotte ended the season by scoring points for the fifth time this year and summarizes his STCC debut year with Volvo Polestar Racing as positive.


"A good end to a year which I think can be summarized as positive. We have taken steps forward all the way during the season and I have learned a lot. I am looking forward to next year," said Prince Carl Philip Bernadotte.


The 2013 STCC season resulted in the STCC drivers' title for Thed Björk, the STCC manufacturers' title for Volvo and bronze for Robert Dahlgren. Volvo Polestar Racing secured ten out of 12 victories and 24 out of 36 podium finishes.


"We extended the cooperation with Polestar ahead of the 2005 season and it is the hard work during these years that has payed off now. The 2013 STCC season is without a doubt one of the best in the history of Volvo. The drivers and staff in the team have done an amazing job this year and it is really good to end the season with two eventful and successful races," said Derek Crabb, Motorsport Director of Volvo Cars.


Results - Mantorp Park - Race 1

1 Linus Ohlsson Volvo S60 15 laps

2 Fredrik Ekblom Volvo S60 +3.149

3 Jocke Mangs Citroën C5 +6.989

4 Thed Björk Volvo S60 +7.099

5 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +12.366

6 Tomas Engström Honda Civic +13.525

7 Robin Rudholm BMW SR +14.201

8 Mattias Andersson Dacia SE +14.653

9 Andreas Wernersson Citroën C5 +14.921

10 Philip Forsman BMW SR +15.121

11 Fredrik Larsson BMW SR +17.090

12 Daniel Haglöf Saab 9-3 +22.060

13 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 +22.434

14 Daniel Roos Saab 9-3 +24.792

15 Roger Samuelsson Saab 9-3 +1:16.416

16 Richard Göransson BMW SR DNF


Results - Mantorp Park - Race 2

1 Thed Björk Volvo S60 15 laps

2 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +1.188

3 Jocke Mangs Citroën C5 +1.996

4 Linus Ohlsson Volvo S60 +2.146

5 Mattias Andersson Dacia SE +15.036

6 Andreas Wernersson Citroën C5 +18.194

7 Philip Forsman BMW SR +18.247

8 Daniel Haglöf Saab 9-3 +18.393

9 Richard Göransson BMW SR +24.489

10 Carl Philip Bernadotte +26.668

11 Robin Rudholm BMW SR +28.033

12 Daniel Roos Saab 9-3 +28.454

13 Roger Samuelsson Saab 9-3 +1:04.604

14 Fredrik Larsson BMW SR +1 lap

15 Fredrik Ekblom Volvo S60 DNF

16 Tomas Engström Honda Civic DNF


Final standings drivers

258 Thed Björk

161 Richard Göransson

160 Robert Dahlgren

146 Linus Ohlsson

140 Fredrik Ekblom

105 Fredrik Larsson

78 Jocke Mangs

65 Mattias Andersson

63 Daniel Haglöf

36 Robin Rudholm

18 Tomas Engström

10 Carl Philip Bernadotte

10 Andreas Wernersson

10 Roar Lindland

8 Alexander Graff

7 Philip Forsman

4 Alx Danielsson

3 Niclas Olsson

1 Fredrik Magnusson


Final standings manufacturers

522 Volvo

320 BMW

154 Citroën

144 Saab

90 Dacia


Media Contact

Johan Meissner

Press Manager

Polestar AB

Phone: +46 [0]70 241 3234



Product News
Descriptions and facts in this press material relate to Volvo Cars' international car range. Described features might be optional. Vehicle specifications may vary from one country to another and may be altered without prior notification.