Back into the points for Polestar Cyan Racing in Vila Real street races


Polestar Cyan Racing went back into the points in the very hot FIA World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) Vila Real street circuit races as Thed Björk secured two top ten finishes.


The reigning Scandinavian Touring Car Championship (STCC) champion crossed the line in seventh position in the first race and one place better in the second race, just one second behind reigning double world champion José María López.


”I am happy with the outcome of the weekend in terms of the work we have done with the car and that I was able to fight with the drivers around me from my qualifying positions,” said Thed Björk.

Back into the points for Polestar Cyan Racing in Vila Real street races

Robert Dahlgren is back in the WTCC for the first time since 2011, qualifying eleventh and finishing 13th in the first race, being forced to retire from the second race due to a technical issue.


”With my limited time in the car and no experience from the circuit for neither the team nor me, this has been a positive first weekend. We made steady progress forward all weekend and I can’t wait to dig my teeth into all data and move forward for the coming races,” said Robert Dahlgren.


The WTCC race weekend in Portugal concludes the European part of the season with Argentina next up after the summer break on August 5-7th. More than half of the season has been completed with Polestar Cyan Racing claiming 14 points finishes, two top five finishes and one Q3 session.


”The learnings from our last visit to the street circuit in Marrakech could be applied today and we are happy with being back in the points. Street circuits like Vila Real are like walking on a tightrope without a safety net, especially for us having never been here before. The team and our drivers have been very brave and professional all weekend,” said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.


WTCC Race of Portugal
Circuit: Circuito International de Vila Real


Race 1

1 Tom Coronel Chevrolet Cruze 13 laps

2 Tom Chilton Citroën C-Elysée +0.597

3 Nicky Catsburg Lada Vesta +2.626

4 Mehdi Bennani Citroën C-Elysée +3.145

5 José María López Citroën C-Elysée +3.626

7 Thed Björk Volvo S60 +5.155

13 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +20.282


Race 2

1 Tiago Monteiro Honda Civic 14 laps

2 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysée +0.821

3 Norbert Michelisz Honda Civic +2.181

4 Rob Huff Honda Civic +3.402

5 José María López Citroën C-Elysée +16.164

6 Thed Björk Volvo S60 +17.374

DNF Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60


Championship standings

1 José María López Citroën C-Elysée 244 pts

2 Tiago Monteiro Honda Civic 143 (-101)

3 Nicky Catsburg Lada Vesta 139 (-105)

4 Mehdi Bennani Citroën C-Elysée 134 (-110)

5 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysée 133 (-111)

12 Thed Björk Volvo S60 41 (-203)

13 Fredrik Ekblom Volvo S60 35 (-209)




About Polestar

Polestar is the performance brand of Volvo Cars. The company was founded as a motorsport team in 1996 and has been successful in numerous championships, racing with various Volvo models. In 2009, Polestar started to offer performance related products and thereby intensified the business relations with Volvo Cars. The first performance cars, based on Volvo’s S60 and V60, were launched in 2014. In 2015, Volvo Cars acquired the performance unit of Polestar, as a strong commitment towards a credible performance offer and with the mission to define future premium performance.


About Cyan Racing

Cyan Racing is the motorsport partner to Polestar. The company is owned by Christian Dahl and handles all motorsport operations of Polestar. Cyan Racing, formerly named Polestar Racing, has claimed five STCC driver titles and seven STCC team titles with the Volvo 850, S40, C30 and S60.

Mots clés:
Actualités Produit
La description et les faits repris dans le matériel de presse concernent la gamme de voitures internationale de Volvo Cars. Les équipements peuvent être optionnels. Les spécifications peuvent varier en fonction du pays et peuvent être modifiées sans préavis.