Robert Dahlgren closes STCC points gap after Karlskoga win


Robert Dahlgren closed the gap further to Polestar Cyan Racing team-mate and championship leader Richard Göransson after victory in the first Scandinavian Touring Car Championship (STCC) race at Karlskoga.


Dahlgren got revenge after his dreadful race in Falkenberg before the summer break by being fastest in qualifying, winning the first race and finishing fifth despite a penalty in the second race that dropped him to last position. The result has brought him to just 11 points from the championship lead.


”I am really pleased with this weekend. The team gave me the best car I’ve had all season, so big thanks to them. I’m heading home now to recharge my batteries after two tough weeks,” said Robert Dahlgren, who raced WTCC in Argentina last weekend and was hospitalised earlier this week due to a stomach virus.


Team-mate Göransson fought hard with his 60 kilos of penalty weight and qualified fourth, a position he kept in the first race, putting hard pressure on Daniel Haglöf who finished third. The second race ended with a non-finish due to an electrical problem.


”The retirement in the second race was of course unfortunate, but outside of my control. To get away with fourth in both qualifying and the race is okay with maximum weight in the car. I’m looking forward to bounce back in the next race,” said Richard Göransson.


Prince Carl Philip had a tough race weekend but managed to finish in the points of both races, with seventh position as his best result.


”We worked hard on the setup but didn’t get it right until the final race where I am pleased with my pace. I still got some points with me and I hope to work our way further up for the next race,” said Prince Carl Philip.


The STCC weekend in Karlskoga has brought the gap between Göransson and Dahlgren in the title fight from 47 to just 11 points ahead of the two final race weekends.


”We got more points from this weekend than we expected with maximum weight for Göransson and Dahlgren starting tenth in the second race. The conditions for the last two weekends are exciting and promising,” said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.


Next up is Solvalla on September 2-3rd.


STCC Karlskoga

Circuit: Karlskoga Motorstadion

Length: 2400 m

Lap record (STCC): 1:04.560, Björk



Race 1 – Top 5

1 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 18 laps

2 Mattias Andersson Dacia SE +8.685

3 Daniel Haglöf SEAT León +13.574

4 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 +14.136

5 Björn Wirdheim Saab 9-3 +15.703

10 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 +47.878


Race 2 – Top 5

1 Björn Wirdheim Saab 9-3 18 laps

2 Rasmus Mårthen Ford Mondeo +16.239

3 Daniel Haglöf SEAT León +17.633

4 Reuben Kressner Saab 9-3 +18.041

5 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +18.671

7 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 +57.176

DNF Richard Göransson Volvo S60


Q1 – Top 5

1 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 1:04.669

2 Johan Kristoffersson SEAT León +0.068

3 Linus Ohlsson Nissan SE +0.273

4 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 +0.431

5 Mattias Andersson Dacia SE +0.590

11 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 +1.262


Q2 – Top 5

1 Johan Kristoffersson SEAT León 1:04.838

2 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +0.399

3 Linus Ohlsson Nissan SE +0.405

4 Mattias Andersson Dacia SE +0.571

5 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 +0.66


TV Schedule

Sweden: SVT1 Live 13:30 14/8 & SVT2 – 18:10 15/8

Live online:


Championship standings

Drivers – Top 5

1 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 250 points

2 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 239 (-11)

3 Johan Kristoffersson SEAT León 189 (-61)

4 Daniel Haglöf SEAT León 144 (-106)

5 Björn Wirdheim Saab 9-3 142 (-108)

10 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 54 (-196)


Team – Top 5

1 Polestar Cyan Racing 496 points

2 SEAT Dealer Team 344 (-152)

3 Flash Engineering 289 (-207)

4 Dacia Dealer Team 150 (-346)

5 Brovallen Design 101 (-395)


2016 Scandinavian Touring Car Championship Entry List

Driver – Team – Car

Robert Dahlgren – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60

Richard Göransson – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60

Carl Philip Bernadotte – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60

Johan Kristoffersson – PWR Racing – SEAT León

Emma Kimiläinen – PWR Racing – SEAT León

Daniel Haglöf – PWR Racing – SEAT León

Björn Wirdheim – Flash Engineering – Saab 9-3

Reuben Kressner – Flash Engineering – Saab 9-3

Linus Ohlsson – Flash Engineering – Saab 9-3

Mattias Andersson – Dacia Dealer Team – Dacia SE

Rasmus Mårthen – Brovallen Design – Ford Mondeo


Scandinavian Touring Car Championship 2016 Calendar

31-1/5 Skövde Airport Race

26/5 Mantorp Park

18-19/6 Anderstorp

09-10/7 Falkenberg

13-14/8 Karlskoga

02-03/9 Solvalla

23-24/9 Knutstorp



About Polestar

Polestar is the performance brand of Volvo Cars. The company was founded as a motorsport team in 1996 and has been successful in numerous championships, racing with various Volvo models. In 2009, Polestar started to offer performance related products and thereby intensified the business relations with Volvo Cars. The first performance cars, based on Volvo’s S60 and V60, were launched in 2014.

In 2015, Volvo Cars acquired the performance unit of Polestar, as a strong commitment towards a credible performance offer and with the mission to define future premium performance.


About Cyan Racing

Cyan Racing is the motorsport partner to Polestar. The company is owned by Christian Dahl and handles all motorsport operations of Polestar. Cyan Racing, formerly named Polestar Racing, has claimed five STCC drivers’ titles and seven STCC teams’ titles with the Volvo 850, S40, C30 and S60.




Volvo Car Group in 2015

Voor het boekjaar 2015 liet Volvo Car Group (Volvo Cars) een bedrijfswinst optekenen van SEK 6.620 miljoen (EUR 706 miljoen), tegenover SEK 2.128 miljoen (EUR 229 miljoen) in 2014. De omzet voor dit boekjaar bedroeg SEK 164.043 miljoen (EUR 17,5 miljard), tegenover SEK 137.590 miljoen (EUR 14,7 miljard) in 2014. In 2015 verkocht Volvo Car Group wereldwijd 503.127 auto's, ofwel 8% meer dan in 2014. Deze recordcijfers qua omzet en bedrijfswinst betekenen dat Volvo Car Group kan blijven investeren in het wereldwijde transformatieplan.


Over Volvo Car Group

Volvo is actief sinds 1927. Vandaag is Volvo Cars een van de bekendste en meest gerespecteerde automerken ter wereld. In 2015 werden 503 127  Volvo's verkocht in ongeveer 100 landen. Sinds 2010 is Volvo Cars eigendom van Zhejiang Geely Holding (Geely Holding) uit China. Het bedrijf maakte deel uit van de Zweeds Volvo Group tot 1999, wanneer het werd gekocht door het Amerikaanse Ford Motor Company. In 2010 werd Volvo Cars uiteindelijk overgenomen door Geely Holding.  

In december 2015 stelde Volvo Cars wereldwijd meer dan 29.000 medewerkers tewerk. De hoofdzetel, productontwikkeling, marketing en administratie van Volvo Cars zijn grotendeels gevestigd in Göteborg, Zweden. Het hoofdkantoor van Volvo Cars voor China is gevestigd in Shanghai. De grootste autofabrieken van het bedrijf zijn gevestigd in Göteborg (Zweden), Gent (België) en Chengdu (China), terwijl de motoren worden gemaakt in Skövde (Zweden) en Zhangjiakou (China) en de carrosserie-onderdelen in Olofström (Zweden).

Product News
De beschrijving en de feiten vermeld in het persmateriaal hebben betrekking op het internationale aanbod van auto's van Volvo Cars. De apparatuur kan optioneel zijn. Specificaties kunnen per land verschillen en onderhevig zijn aan verandering zonder kennisgeving.
Media contacten